Central Wheatbelt

Central Wheatbelt

  1. Shire of Beverley
  2. Shire of Boddington
  3. Shire of Brookton
  4. Shire of Bruce Rock
  5. Shire of Corrigin
  6. Shire of Cunderdin
  7. Shire of Dowerin
  8. Shire of Goomalling
  9. Shire of Kellerberrin
  10. Shire of Kondinin
  11. 11 Shire of Koorda
  12. 12 Shire of Mount Marshall
  13. 13 Shire of Merredin
  14. 14 Shire of Mukinbudin

15. Shire of Narembeen
16. Shire of Northam
17. Shire of Nungarin
18. Shire of Pingelly
19. Shire of Quairading
20. Shire of Tammin
21. Shire of Trayning
22. Shire of Westonia
23. Shire of Wongan-Ballidu
24. Shire of Wyalkatchem
25. Shire of Yilgarn
26. Shire of Wandering
27. Shire of York


Deriving its name from the vast central wheatbelt of Western Australia, the electorate stretches along the Great Eastern Highway from Wundowie and Northam in the west to Southern Cross in the east.

It runs from Ballidu and Beacon in the north to Boddington, Wandering, Corrigin and Hyden in the south. Major centres include Boddington, Brookton, Corrigin, Cunderdin, Kellerberrin, Merredin, Northam, Quairading, Wandering, Wongan Hills, Wundowie and York.

A change in electoral boundaries in 2015, which came into effect for the March 11, 2017 election, saw the Shires of Yilgarn, Westonia, Boddington, Wandering and Pingelly join Central Wheatbelt. It now covers 101,240 square kilometres.



Central Wheatbelt was first contested at the 2008 election, created on the introduction of one-vote one-value boundaries by the amalgamation of the electorates of Avon and Merredin.

Mia went on to return a two party preferred vote of 72.6 per cent at the 2017 election and a 2.6 per cent swing towards her in first preferences.



About Mia Davies
About The Nationals WA